How do you plan to raise your kids?

happy-kid-clipart-kid_row

To the best of my abilities like everybody else was my natural reply, but then I realized they meant in regards to religion.

This question I find kinda hard to answer simply because I dunno.  I was not raised in a religious household from which I can source ways of raising my little ones.  Yes my children are being taught to say Bismillah (in the name of Allah) before eating and then Alhamdulillah (praise be to Allah) after eating, which is all very similar in intentions to saying grace as a Christian.  They say hi sometimes and As-Salaam-Alaikum (Peace be unto you) other times depending if they are talking to a speaker of Arabic or one of my relatives.  We are raising them bilingual so the can speak to both sides of the family.

I wouldn’t say I am heavily teaching them Islam, firstly as they are still young to comprehend much but secondly I believe if you are over powering they will run and do the opposite.  Yes my children as both Muslims being raised by a born Muslim father and a revert mother but really if you met them you wouldn’t be able to differentiate them from Joe blogs next door.  Sometimes people seem to expect a strongly religious household but in reality its just the same as everyone else.  Since living here i have had the privilege to see into the life’s of Muslim families and while they do have Quran and sometimes you will hear them reciting Quran with their children, I didn’t find it any different than how parents read the Bible or even a story to their young ones.

I would like them to be good Muslims when they are older but while I can teach manners, respect for others and all the basis of Islam what they then do with that upbringing is in their hands alone.  Kids these days are very influences by the internet, TV and the ever changing culture of their generation.

So in summary I plan to raise them knowing and understanding Islam, to tell the truth, to respect others and most importantly to be true to themselves.

If you have any questions of your own please feel free to ask 🙂

By the way I have Twitter now 🙂  www.twitter.com/memuslimahmum  Twitter_bird

Milly x

Leave a Reply

